Staff Awards: 2010

Instrument Scientist Xun-Li Wang Elected Fellow in American Physical Society

Xun-Li Wang, a member of the Neutron Scattering Science Division, serves as the lead instrument scientist for VULCAN, a state-of-the-art engineering diffractometer at SNS. Wang also serves as group leader for the Powder Diffraction Instrument Group. Wang was cited by the APS for his sustained contributions in neutron diffraction studies and his leadership in the design and construction of a versatile engineering diffractometer at the Spallation Neutron Source.

Wang arrived at ORNL in 1992 and joined SNS in 1999. He received his doctorate from Iowa State University and his undergraduate degree from Beijing University, both in physics.

Read more about all four ORNL scientists also named American Physical Society Fellows.

License signing event for UT-Battelle, LLC, and PartTec, Ltd

License signing event for UT-Battelle, LLC, and PartTec, Ltd, to market an advanced neutron detector system developed for the Spallation Neutron Source, August 12, 2010.

Front: PartTec office manager Donna Workman, PartTec CEO Herschel Workman, and PartTec production manager Craig Kline. Back: SNS staff Bruce Hannan, Rick Riedel, Jason Hodges, Ron Cooper, and Graeme Murdoch.

Neutron Sciences Takes Three ORNL Significant Event Awards for 2010

Every year an ORNL committee composed of representatives from each directorate evaluates the major achievements at the Laboratory in various areas of work such as science, technology, and operations. This year three teams from the Neutron Sciences Directorate received awards for their accomplishments:

  • A contract with PartTec to market an ORNL-developed neutron detector system to address the critical helium-3 shortage. Recipients were Ron Cooper, Lowell Crow, Rick Riedel, John Richards, Lloyd Clonts, Bruce Hannan, Jason Hodges, and Greg Flickinger.
  • Delivery of a world-class preventative maintenance optimization process at HFIR. Recipients were Ben Rothrock, Laurie Brown, Mark Linn, Steve Hammonds, and Ludwig Burkle.
  • Development and commissioning of the Electron Beam Profile Monitor for the SNS Accumulator Ring. Recipients were Alexander Aleksandrov, Viatcheslav Danilov, Willem Blokland, Graeme Murdoch, Sarah Cousineau, and Anthony Webster.
Flora Meilleur

Flora Meilleur (left) discusses the poster detailing her team’s research with Cathy Fore of Oak Ridge Associated Universities. Photo: Ron Walli

Bio-SANS Research Team has Winning ORNL Lab-Directed R&D Poster

A team led by Flora Meilleur of the Neutron Scattering Science Division won top honors in the recent ORNL Lab-Directed R&D program poster session. The poster was titled "Structural Difference of Sindhis Virus Growth in Mammalian and Insect Cells: A SANS Study." It described investigations of virus structure and function using the Bio-SANS instruments at the High Flux Isotope Reactor.

Casagrande elected to Cryogenics Society board

Fabio Casagrande, Cryogenics Systems Group Leader in the Research Accelerator Division at the Spallation Neutron Source, has been elected to the Board of Directors of the Cryogenics Society of America. Fabio recently received the Cryogenics Society of America 2009 Award for Excellence in Cryogenic Operations and Support. This award is given for excellence in establishing, improving, or simplifying processes in cryogenic operations from small-scale to large-scale facilities or for excellence in the development or implementation of techniques involving the fabrication, joining, assembly, wiring, checkout, and/or operation of cryogenic systems, from laboratory research apparatus to large-scale commercial machinery.

Pramnick wins Edward C. Henry Best Paper Award

Abhijit Pramnick, a postdoctoral student on the VULCAN team, won the 2010 Edward C. Henry best paper award from the American Ceramic Society, for “Subcoercive cyclic electrical loading of lead zirconate titanate ceramics II: Time-resolved x-ray diffraction,” Abhijit Pramanick, John E. Daniels, and Jacob L. Jones, Journal of the American Ceramic Society, 92(10), 2300-2310 (2009).

Communications team receives Silver Award

The Communications team of Charlie Horak, Deborah Counce, Renee’ Manning, and Genevieve Martin received a Silver Award in this year’s Magnum Opus competition for the Neutron Sciences 2008 Annual Report. The team received the award in the category of Print Annual Report, Best Overall Editorial. The Magnum Opus awards recognize writers, editors, designers, and communications managers who do exceptional work in print, online, and in traditional and social media.

Nagler elected Fellow by AAAS and NSSA

Fellow is the highest honor bestowed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science. Stephen E. Nagler is cited by the society "for outstanding contributions to the study of condensed matter, especially pioneering applications of inelastic neutron scattering to low dimensional quantum materials." News Release

The Neutron Scattering Society of America (NSSA) Fellowship Program recognizes members who have made signigicant contributions to the neutron scattering community in North America in one or more of the following areas: advances in knowledge through original research and publication; innovative contributions in the application of neutron scattering; contributions to the promotion or development of neutron scattering techniques; and service and participation in the activities of the NSSA or neutron community. More

Mook Receives Neutron Scattering Society of America's 2010 Clifford G. Shull Prize

Herb Mook of the Neutron Scattering Science Division was awarded the Neutron Scattering Society of America's 2010 Clifford G. Shull Prize. Mook was cited "For outstanding contributions to the study of magnetism, superconductivity, and quantum phenomena in matter with neutrons." The prize is named in honor of Professor Clifford G. Shull, who received the Nobel Prize in 1994 with Professor Bertram Brockhouse for seminal developments in the field of neutron science.

The nominations were reviewed by a committee of experts in the field of neutron science. The prize and $5000 honorarium will be awarded at the 2010 ACNS in Ottawa, Canada, June 26-30, 2010. News Release

8=Pack position-sensitive detector electronics system

The 8=Pack position-sensitive detector electronics system.

Riedel, Cooper, and Clonts Follow Excellence in Technology Transfer Award with Licensing Agreement with PartTec, Ltd

Rick Riedel and Lloyd Clonts, Neutron Scattering Science Division, and Ron Cooper, Neutron Facilities Development Division, were recently awarded an Excellence in Technology Transfer Award for transfering a position-sensitive detector electronics system. The award was given by the Southeast Region of the Federal Laboratory Consortium for Technology Transfer. In August of 2010, the team signed a licensing agreement with PartTec, Ltd, to market the advanced system, which was developed for SNS. The detector allows more precise measurement of neutrons and promises many industrial applications. More

Communications Group Receives STC Awards

The Society for Technical Communication (STC) is an international professional association that advances the arts and sciences of technical communications. Every year the society sponsors a technical publications & art competition to recognize outstanding work in the field.

This year the Communications Group received three awards in the East Tennessee Chapter competition, two Awards of Merit and one Award of Distinction. Awards of Distinction are advanced to the international competition.

Back to Top