## OAK RIDGE NATIONAL LABORATORY

## Becoming a User at Oak Ridge National Laboratory's Neutron Scattering Research Facilities

The Neutron Sciences Directorate (NScD) seeks to answer big science questions about the fundamental nature of materials at the atomic scale. By answering big science questions, neutrons help spur innovations that improve our daily lives: more powerful computers, more effective drugs, longer lasting batteries, and improved armor for the military.

NScD achieves its mission by delivering a world-class neutron science program made possible by the safe and reliable operation of two of the most advanced neutron scattering facilities in the world: the **High Flux Isotope Reactor (HFIR)** and the **Spallation Neutron Source (SNS)**. These two facilities are funded by the US Department of Energy's Office of Science and **Office of Basic Energy Sciences**.

HFIR and SNS are open to researchers for advancing research in science and technology. Beam time is granted through the **User Program** on the basis of an external peer review process.



## How is beam time allocated?

- Calls for general user proposals occur twice annually.
- Users submit proposals via an online system.
- A two-page statement of research is required.
- Each proposal is evaluated for scientific merit by 3-4 external experts.
- Each proposal is reviewed internally for feasibility and safety.
- Proposers will be notified of award status within about 8 weeks of the call deadline.
- If awarded, beam time is free of charge if experiment results are intended for publication in open literature.

## How do I become a user at HFIR or SNS?

- See **neutrons.ornl.gov/user** for proposal writing guidance and instrument points of contact.
- We encourage you to talk to an **instrument scientist** about your proposal and experiment plan well before you submit.
- Contact the User Office at neutronusers@ornl.gov with any questions.





**Proposal call** 

announcements

Create a user ID to get started!







Managed by UT-Battelle LLC for the US Department of Energy