In late 2013, Douglas Selby was awarded the 2012 American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) Award for Excellence in Symposium and Publication Management for his role as program chairman and co-editor for the 14th International Symposium on Reactor Dosimetry.

In addition to planning the symposium program of 88 papers and 7 workshops, which is part of a series held every 3 years, Selby played a key role in coordinating and publishing the Special Technical Publication (STP 1550) of the Symposium which consisted of 57 refereed ASTM Journal papers. Sharing this award and coeditors of the STP 1550 book are David Vehar (Sandia National Laboratory) and Mary Helen Sparks (White Sands Missile Range Reactor Physics).

Selby is a member of the ASTM Committee E10 on Nuclear Technology and its Applications, which has jurisdiction over 105 standards and plays a preeminent role in all aspects important to the nuclear industry, including radiation dosimetry, nuclear structural materials, and decontamination & decommissioning.